Grand Theft Auto IV mod looks better than real life

Life has its ways of proving us wrong  and altering our perceptions, sometimes for the better, sometimes for the worse. Today, it’s for the better. Recently, I was joining in on a discussion on VideoGamer.com – of whose homepage my ugly mug is currently featured – about photorealism in videogames and whether or not they’ll ever be able to convincingly recreate reality. I said no. Well, to elaborate, I argued that, unless we see some major advancements in the way that certain assets are modelled and rendered in the next few years, that developers simply can’t, and won’t, devote the man hours required to meticulously render the inside of a character’s nose, or the individual veins in leaves.

It seems that the community does what the developers can’t. In a move that has made me sorry for opening my big, stupid mouth, I have been stunned by one fan’s work. A community mod for Grand Theft Auto IV  has been released and it’s positively jaw-dropping. The mod uses something referred to as iCEnhancer 1.2, and whilst I’m not entirely sure what kind of technical witchcraft and wizardry is going on behind the scenes in this mod, I do know is that it looks absolutely gorgeous.

Sure, the foliage still looks a bit questionable and it’s still discernibly different from ‘real life’, but it’s mightily impressive; for that level of graphical fidelity to be achievable by technology that’s commercially available today fills me with excitement for the future of videogame verisimilitude.

– Rory

7 Responses

  1. Torrents…

    […]Grand Theft Auto IV mod looks better than real life « O WiiLY?[…]…

  2. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to
    be actually something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for me.
    I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  3. Como estan! Un contacto de mi grupo de Myspace compartio esta pagina web entre los miembros del grupo dde este modo he pensado visitar la
    pagina. Definitivamente me ha gustado la informacion. Metere esto en mi bookmarking y se llo a mis seguidores!
    Excelente pagina de blog y un estilo y diseño excelente.

  4. Un portal impresionante con mucha comunicacion beneficiosa.
    Felicidades y enhorabuena!. Claramente uno de mis bookmarked!

  5. El acabado de este web me resulta excelentemente seductor.
    ¿Puedes aconsejarme unos consejos de estilo?
    Lo Aprecio Mucho.

  6. La Mayoria De la datos estaria blogueada de modo directa
    y directa. Ese weblog es de lo preferible que he observado en casi todo on-line.
    Mis Mayores Felicitaciones.

  7. Nunca creo que lo que has post sea sin duda de esta manera.
    Deberas documentarte cconvenientemente o variar las raices de informacion.

Leave a Reply

